Dance the Night Away

I’m not sure about you but in my life there have been so many times that I feel as though I don’t fit in, that I don’t have life together, and that I don’t know what I am doing in life. The speaker in Dance the Night Away by Attaboy can relate to the way that I (and possibly you) feel.

The song even starts with the speaker talking about how he does not fit in. This life that he is living, he is center stage but he feels like he doesn’t even fit in in his own life. I relate the line, “counting stars, but afraid that the sheep” to anxiety. Hear me out here. If you have anxiety you know what I am talking about. When you’re focused on one thing but in the back of your mind you’re panicking about something entirely different. Even though he suffers with anxiety and doesn’t feel like he fits in he says, “I’ll be alright, I’ll be okay. You know I’m not alone when I’m feeling this way.” I think that is a big message for us all. When we feel like we don’t fit in and anxiety lurks around every corner, know that you are not alone. Not only do the speaker and I suffer right beside you but God is always there and He is on your side.

I think that the chorus has a special meaning. “We will dance the night away. Don’t got the moves but we’re on the floor anyway.” To me, “the night” represents dark times or difficult times in our lives. I think that the dancing here symbolizes maybe not quite celebrating through these dark times but living a joyous life despite the troubles. We don’t exactly know what we are doing but we are going to be ourselves and live joyously. The speaker also mentions that we are meant to be free. I think that what he means is that we don’t have to live our lives tied to the ups and downs. With our God who is always beside us we can live joyously even through the rough spots.

In the second verse the speaker is talking about someone he sees who is just like him and me. Someone who doesn’t feel like they belong but this person differs in a major way. This person the speaker is talking about is longing to fit in. This person is doing whatever it takes to fit in and the speaker sees right through this charade. The speaker tells us all that we don’t have to put on a mask, we don’t have to fit in with this world. The speaker wants us to see that if we are just ourselves we will be more happy. Even though being ourselves may seem isolating because we feel alone, it is also freeing in that we don’t have to put on a show. Besides, we aren’t alone and that is what the speaker wants to get across.

At the end of the song, the speaker encourages us all to come together to support one another in each of our nights. Coming together, along with realizing God is always there for us, we can turn the dark times light.

I would seriously recommend listening to this CD (Vitals). There are some amazing messages throughout the entire album. This song in particular stood out to me because I know that so many of us feel like we are lost and alone in this world but we really aren’t lost or alone and I found that to be very uplifting. On the same note, please feel free to reach out to me if you ever feel like you’re lost or alone because trust me, I’ve been there, and it’s not a fun place to be.

What do you think?

