Lose My Soul

Click here for the previous part of the Chronicles.
Have you ever read or heard anything from the life of Jesus? The people He surrounded himself with were sinners. He said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners” Mark 2:17 NIV. I really like that verse because it’s so full of insight into what Jesus came to do.
Wow, I’d never thought of it that way. But still, if you only knew the kind of stuff I’ve done, you would know that God could never love me.
God revealed Himself repeatedly to the Israelites and yet they still worshiped foreign gods. Even though He was angry with the Israelites, God forgave them every time they repented. He did this because he loved them, just as He loves you and I. All he asks for is our repentance.
Continued here. Back to the beginning.

TobyMac hold a special place in my heart. Before hearing him, I thought all Christian music was boring and consisted of “church songs.” My cousin gets all of the credit for me listening to only Christian music because she is the one who introduced me to TobyMac. The song Lose My Soul, I believe, is based on Mark 8:36, “What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?” Have you ever really thought about it? What good are our worldly possessions going to do for us after we die? The entire song is like a prayer to God that we not get lost in the things of this world but keep our eyes fixed on Him.

I had never looked up the words to this song before but I never thought I needed to. I was wrong. It’s fun to see how wrong I was about some of the lyrics. The song makes so much more sense. Some lyrics I’d like to point out that I had wrong all of these years; “It’s a fees for the eyes, a low blow to purpose,”You sit idle while we teach prosperity, / the first thing to prosper should be inside me. / We’re free, / not because of 22s on the range, / but Christ came in range, we said yes, now we changed,” “Since I got that call, no more Saul, now I’m Paul.” I really like that last one. It was very clever.

Lord forgive us when we get consumed by the things of this world,
that fight for our love and our passion,
as our eyes are open wide and on you.
Grant us the privilege of your world view,
and may your kingdom be what wakes us up and lays us down.

2 thoughts on “Lose My Soul

  1. Pingback: New Beginnings | Stories from a Jesus Freak

  2. Pingback: Clarity | Stories from a Jesus Freak

What do you think?

