What if I Stumble ~ dc Talk

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today is Christians who acknowledge Jesus with their lips but walk out the door and deny Him with their lifestyle. That is what and unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

What if I Stumble?

I know I’ve done much stumbling in my life. Some days I find my self just dwelling on all the things I’ve done wrong (at least all the things I can remember). It’s not a great feeling. I beat myself up over things that the people involved don’t even remember. My memory works in such a way that I can tell you so many of my mistakes but the mistakes of others, unless life altering, I’ve easily forgotten. I find it’s easier for me to forgive others than it is to forgive myself. I know that every time I stumble God forgives me, so why can’t I forgive myself?

I love the quote at the beginning of this song. It is so amazingly true! Ask anyone you know that isn’t a Christian and I bet 70% will say that this quote sums it all up. It’s all I hear from people. “Christians are such hypocrites, Christians think they’re better than everyone else, Christians are just plain mean.” I completely agree. I hate judgmental people. << (check out this week’s video from Blimey Cow!!)

As Christians we have a huge responsibility. I would dare to say that all Christians are hypocrites. To expand, I would say that every human is a hypocrite at some point. Just take a second to think about it. I hear many say “Do as I say not as I do,” that is a great motto for hypocrisy. I think hypocrisy is just human nature so it isn’t necessarily fair to point solely at Christians and claim they are hypocrites. It’s like Matthew 7:5 says You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. I do have to say, though, that it is far more important for a Christian not to be a hypocrite than it is for most others. This is because non-Christians, watch Christians very closely just as the Pharisees watched Jesus, each waiting for the other to slip up.

So take comfort in the fact that everyone is a hypocrite but don’t let that be your excuse to continue to be one. Measure your steps carefully, be always watchful of your words, and know that even though you will mess up, God will be there to pick you up.

What do you think?

